Last read October 14, 2026. Figures change as machines are restocked; the method does not.
A "90% buyback" on a machine whose cards are worth 96 percent of the pack price pays less than an "85% buyback" on a machine whose cards are worth 110 percent. The number that compares platforms is the product of the two. We call it Net EV: the expected value of a pull as a share of the pack price, times the buyback rate, which is what an average pull returns if you sell every card straight back.
Net EV = (EV / pack price) x buyback rate. Example: EV 107 percent of price, buyback 83 percent, Net EV 89 percent. Then subtract any fee the platform charges on the buyback.
Machine by machine, on each platform's own valuation
Every EV below is the platform's own number for its own pool, read on October 14, 2026. That matters: a platform that overstates card values overstates its EV. The cross-check further down tests the largest one.
| Platform | Pack | Price | EV as % of price | Buyback | Net EV | After stated fees | Valuation basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rip Station | $25 Pokemon | $25 | 109% | 83% | 91% | 91% | Own estimate from public comps, timestamped |
| Rip Station | $50 Pokemon | $50 | 105% | 83% | 87% | 87% | same |
| Rip Station | $100 to $500 Pokemon | $100 to $500 | 106% to 107% | 83% | 88% to 89% | 88% to 89% | same |
| Rip Station | $50 Max Buyback | $50 | 107% | 90% | 96% | 96% | same |
| Collector Crypt | Starter Pokemon | $25 | 110% | 85% | 93% | 93% | Own "insured value"; see cross-check |
| Collector Crypt | Elite Pokemon | $50 | 110% | 85% | 93% | 93% | same |
| Collector Crypt | Bronze, Legendary, Hyper Pokemon | $100, $250, $500 | 105% | 90% | 94% to 95% | 94% to 95% | same |
| Collector Crypt | Grail, Mythic, Celestial Pokemon | $1,000 to $5,000 | 101% to 102% | 93% | 94% | 94% | same |
| Courtyard | Pokemon Starter | $25 | 100% ("average item value $25") | 90% | 90% | about 85% after the 6% fee one reviewer reports | Own FMV, "comps informed by recent sales" |
| Courtyard | Pokemon Pro | $50 | 96% ("average item value $48") | 90% | 86% | about 81% after that fee | same |
| Phygitals | Rookie | $25 | 104% ("$26 per pack") | 85% | 88% | 88% | Own FMV from "industry-standard pricing providers" |
| Phygitals | Elite | $50 | 102% ("$51 per pack") | 85% | 87% | 87% | same |
| Beezie | Silver | $50 | 110% ("average value $55") | 85% SWAP | 93% | about 88% after the 6% SWAP fee | Own FMV from "multiple market sources" |
| Beezie | Gold TCG | $250 | 105% ("average value $263") | 90% SWAP | 95% | about 89% after the fee | same |
| Tilt Rips | Starter | $25 | 100% ("100% EV" badge) | 90% | 90% | 90%; $2 withdrawal fee per a review | Own "live market" values; the band table does not let us verify 100% |
| rip.fun | Gold Mystery Pack / Pro Mystery Card | $15 / $55 | 104% / 106% ("value back", undefined) | 90% / 86% | 94% / 91% | same | Own oracle over marketplace sales; all packs sold out when read |
| ripz.gg | 30th Celebration pack | 1,399 Gems | 65% (computed from its per-card rates) | 85% to 90%, in Gems | 55% to 58% | paid as store credit, not cash | Own Gem values |
| Arena Club | Gen 1 Pokemon Starter | $51 | not published | not published | not computable | optional $40 floor for $5.10 extra (78%) | House |
| Ripit | Starter | $25 | not published | not published | not computable | "FMV", whose is not stated | |
| Rips by Triumph | app packs | $1 to $1,000 | not published | not published | not computable | $5 minimum cash-out, $5,000 daily cap | Proprietary, "sole discretion" |
| Packs.com | 30th Celebration | 9.01 Coins | not published | not published | not computable | not stated |
What the table says
- On their own numbers, Collector Crypt's Pokemon machines net the most, 93 to 95 percent across every price point, because both its EV and its buyback are high. Rip Station sits at 87 to 91 (96 on the Max Buyback pack), Beezie 88 to 89 after its fee, Phygitals 87 to 88, Courtyard 86 to 90 before a fee that would take it to the low 80s.
- The buyback percentage predicts almost nothing. Courtyard's 90 percent nets less than Collector Crypt's 85 percent, because Courtyard's $50 pool averages 96 percent of price and Collector Crypt's averages 110.
- Four platforms cannot be scored. Arena Club, Ripit, Rips by Triumph and Packs.com publish neither an EV nor a buyback rate, so the honest answer for them is "unknown," which is a worse answer than 86 percent.
- Store credit is not Net EV. ripz.gg's 55 to 58 percent is paid in Gems you cannot withdraw.
Cross-check: are Collector Crypt's values real?
Every EV above rests on a valuation the platform controls, so the obvious objection is that a platform can buy a high Net EV by marking its cards up. We tested the largest one. Collector Crypt's API lists the cards in each machine with their "insured value." We sampled 227 cards from its $50 and $250 Pokemon machines across all four rarity tiers, matched 57 of them (same card, same grader, same grade, excluding first-edition mismatches and low-confidence lanes) to Rip Station's estimated value, and compared.
| Tier (share of pulls) | Cards matched | Median Collector Crypt value / Rip Station value |
|---|---|---|
| $50 machine, common (80%) | 12 | 0.96 |
| $50 machine, uncommon (15%) | 8 | 0.90 |
| $50 machine, rare (4%) | 9 | 0.96 |
| $50 machine, epic (1%) | 3 | 1.06 |
| $250 machine, common (75%) | 9 | 0.92 |
| $250 machine, uncommon (20%) | 7 | 1.00 |
| $250 machine, rare (4%) | 5 | 0.84 |
| $250 machine, epic (1%) | 4 | 1.44 |
| All non-epic | 50 | 0.93 |
| All epic | 7 | 1.18 |
On the cards that make up 99 percent of pulls, Collector Crypt's insured values sit at or slightly below Rip Station's estimates (median 0.93). On the chase cards, they run higher (median 1.18, with a $13,000 Dragons Exalted Rayquaza PSA 9 against a $7,400 estimate, and a $9,500 First Edition Charizard CGC 3.5 we could not match to the right lane and excluded). Chase cards carry a disproportionate share of EV, so the top-end markup flatters Collector Crypt's EV somewhat, but not enough to close a six-point Net EV gap on the $50 machine. Our conclusion, which does not favour our publisher: Collector Crypt's Net EV advantage is mostly real. The caveats are that its "insured value" is by its own description not a market price, its buyback window is three days against seven, and Rip Station's estimate is itself one engine's opinion. We will run the same check on Courtyard, Phygitals and Beezie when we can read their pools.
How to use Net EV
- Find the machine's EV in dollars and divide by the price. If the platform does not publish an EV, stop: you cannot price the pack.
- Multiply by the buyback rate for that machine. Subtract any fee on the buyback.
- Compare across platforms at the same price point. A two-point difference is noise; a six-point difference is a different product.
- Then ask whose valuation the EV rests on, and whether you can inspect it. Rip Station publishes its per-card estimates and price history; Collector Crypt publishes each card's insured value through its API; Beezie, Phygitals and Courtyard publish an average and a method sentence.
Net EV is the number for someone who sells every pull. If you keep cards, the EV itself is your number, and the buyback rate is the price of changing your mind. Our EV guide covers that case.
How we compared
We read each platform's own pages first (FAQ, docs, terms, help centre) on the date above and quoted what they say. Where a site could not be read without a browser, or published nothing, we fell back to dated third-party reviews and marked them. Percentages are not interchangeable across rows: a buyback quoted against "insured value" set by the platform, against "fair market value" from an undisclosed method, and against a timestamped estimate from public comps are three different promises. Every cell carries a numbered source. If a platform changes a term, the number here is wrong until we re-read it; check the operator before relying on it.
See also the twelve-platform comparison.
Sources
- 1. Rip Station public machines API and EV page, read October 14, 2026
- 2. Collector Crypt machines API (price, odds, EV, buyback per machine) and per-machine card list with insured values, read October 14, 2026
- 3. Courtyard pack pages, Distribution panel: Starter, Pro; buyback fee per The Game Haus, Oct 13 2026 (affiliate)
- 4. Phygitals pack pages: Rookie, Elite; buyback docs
- 5. Beezie Claw pages: Silver, Gold TCG; Claw FAQ (6% SWAP fee)
- 6. Tilt Rips pack page
- 7. rip.fun mystery packs; pricing docs
- 8. ripz.gg 30th Celebration set page (per-card rates and Gem values; EV computed as the sum of value x rate over 191 cards)
- 9. Arena Club Slab Pack page; Ripit Starter pack; Deadspin on Rips by Triumph (affiliate); Packs.com pack page
Frequently asked questions
What is Net EV on a pack ripping site?
Expected value as a share of pack price, multiplied by the instant buyback rate, minus any buyback fee. It is what an average pull returns if you sell every card straight back, and it lets you compare an 85% buyback on a rich pool against a 90% buyback on a thin one.
Which pack ripping platform has the highest Net EV?
On each platform's own valuation, read October 14, 2026: Collector Crypt's Pokemon machines at 93 to 95 percent, then Rip Station's Max Buyback pack at 96 and its standard machines at 87 to 91, Beezie 88 to 89 after its swap fee, Phygitals 87 to 88, Courtyard 86 to 90 before a reported 6 percent fee. Arena Club, Ripit, Rips by Triumph and Packs.com publish too little to compute.
Does a higher buyback percentage mean more money back?
No. Courtyard's 90 percent on a $50 pool averaging 96 percent of price nets 86 percent; Collector Crypt's 85 percent on a pool averaging 110 percent nets 93. Multiply EV by buyback before comparing.
Are Collector Crypt's insured values inflated?
On a 57-card cross-check against Rip Station's estimates, no for ordinary pulls (median 0.93 of Rip Station's value) and somewhat for chase cards (median 1.18). The top-end markup flatters its EV a little but does not erase its Net EV lead.
